Entry opens on Tuesday October 1, 2024

The Bull Run Occoquan Trail meanders through a sea of bluebells.

Mark VanDyke

Team Competition

The Bull Run Run team competition is primarily for fun. The categories are designed to challenge those who want competition and to amuse those who want a good time. Each member of each winning team will receive an award. There is no fee to form a team.

Team Mango — Tom Corris, Kerry Owens, Joyce Fendley, Vicki Kendall, and Mike Bur — at the finish of the 2004 Bull Run Run.


All teams must have four members, and of course, each team member must be an official entrant in the Bull Run Run 50 Mile race field. Each BRR entrant can be a member of only one team. Other than this, there are no restrictions on who is on a team (i.e., no geographic or affiliation restrictions). There are no additional costs to create a team and to be eligible for your team of four runners to win one of the great team towels!


There are five award categories. There will be one winning team in each category. The fastest categories are determined by adding the finishing places of all members, and the lowest score wins. Any team member who does not finish officially disqualifies the team for all awards. The categories are:

The Team Award for the 2024 Bull Run Run, as displayed by the diminutive Katie Keier.
  • Fastest All Male
  • Fastest All Female
  • Fastest Co-rec (at least one male and one female on the team - the other two members can be of either sex)
  • Slowest (highest combined finishing places)
  • Oldest Total Age

Category Notes

No team may win multiple awards. The three fastest categories — male, female, and co-rec — will be determined first. The remaining teams will compete for the slowest and oldest categories.

We will allow substitution of team members until April 3. No substitutions after that. Contact the RDs if a substitution is desired.


The 3 of the 4 members of the fastest female team at the 2022 BRR, the Mud Sluts, with their awards.

Each member of a winning team will receive an award. At least one team member must remain at the finish to pick up the team’s awards. Team awards will not be mailed. We will try to determine team competition winners as soon as possible, but if your team has finished the race and you suspect that you may have won a category, seek out a race official at the finish line.

Issues on forming a team

  • Your team name can be cute and it can be clever, but keep it short and it must be no worse than PG-rated. The system limits your team’s name to 40 characters.
  • You may only have team members who are on the entrants list. Being on the wait list doesn’t count.
  • Be sure all team members know that they are on your team! Don’t conscript anyone involuntarily. This is not the real Civil War.


The last day to form a team is April 3 at 9 PM.

Team Wahoo — Jeff Wilbur, Sophie Speidel, Quatro Hubbard, Laura Dewald, and Mike Broderick — at the finish of the 2005 Bull Run Run.

Last updated April 9, 2024