Decorations from the 2014 Awards party.

Keith Knipling

Awards Party Honoring 2017

February 3, 2018  •  Cabin John, MD

About 100 members of the club gathered on February 3 for one of the social highlights of the year — the annual Awards Party. Thanks to Tom McNulty and Katie Keier for coordinating food and drink, Rob Colenso for dressing the place up, and to Jaret Seiburg for securing the venue. Here are the recipients of the 2017 VHTRC Awards.

Performance Awards

Rookie of the Year

Ryan Brown bested Marisa Amanda for Rookie of the Year, which recognizes the male or female member of the VHTRC who, in his or her first year of trail running has demonstrated mental toughness and persistence as well as ability.

Most Improved

Adeline Ntam beat a competitive field including Jamie Greenawalt, Kelly MacDonald, Samantha Pitts-Kiefer, and Megan Wiegand for Most Improved Female runner in 2017. It was Jesse Fuller beating an equally competive field of Josh Howe, Julian Jamison, and Ed Walsh for Most Improved Male This award recognizes one male and one female member of the VHTRC whose performances in trail running in the past year have significantly improved.

Furbutt Award

The Furbutt Award is the award for the person who is really engaged in the VHTRC and supports the club by running well and volunteering in all our runs and events. Jayme Dubinsky edged out Sarah Curtis and Sarah Smith for the Female Furbutt Award while Marty Fox won over Dan Aghdam, Bob Gaylord, and Tom Simonds for the Male Furbutt Award.

Performance of the Year

The Performance of the Year recognizes one male and one female member for the most outstanding performance of the year in a trail run. Sara Davidson won Female Performance of the Year for her 7th place finish at the Tahoe 200, edging out Sarah Schubert. Tom Green’s finish at the Yeti 100 Mile Endurance Run was deemed the best Male Performance of the Year. Trevor Baine, Butch Britton, and Will Weidman were also in the running.

Runner of the Year

The Runner of the Year recognizes two runners — one male and one female member of the VHTRC — who have demonstrated consistently outstanding performances in trail runs during 2017. Kathleen Cusick edged out Megan Alvarado and Sheila Vibert for the Female Runner of the Year. Adam Watkins was victorious over a competitive field of Jared Byrd, Christopher Moore, Jake Rankinen, and Chris Roberts for Male Runner of the Year.

Other awards


Bob Gaylord was voted Ambassador of the Year, besting Jon Jester and Keith Knipling.

James Moore Award

Butch Britton received the James Moore Award, recognizing his service to 22toomany. In 2017 Butch ran 12 ultras to raise awareness for the 22 veterans who commit suicide each day. Butch ran with a picture of a fallen Marine on his back and, after each run, wrote a letter to their spouse/parent and sent them his finishers award.

Last updated December 27, 2019