Keith Knipling

2016 VHTRC Awards and Party

Several members of the club gathered together last night for one of the social highlights of the year — the annual Awards Party. Thanks to Tom McNulty and Katie Keier for coordinating food and drink, Pam Gowan for dressing the place up, and to Jaret Seiburg for securing the venue (which we pushed to its capacity). Here are the recipients of the 2016 VHTRC Awards.

Performance Awards

Rookie of the Year

Patrick Vaughan beat out Marwa Elsayed, Daniel Fogg, and Brett Martin for Rookie of the Year, which recognizes the male or female member of the VHTRC who, in his or her first year of trail running has demonstrated mental toughness and persistence as well as ability.

Most Improved

Diane Behm beat Sarah Curtis, Jayme Dubinsky, Lauren Gabler, Sirisha (Iris) Golla for Most Improved Female runner in 2016. It was Dan Aghdam edging out Trevor Baine for Most Improved Male This award recognizes one male and one female member of the VHTRC whose performances in trail running in the past year have significantly improved.

Furbutt Award

The Furbutt Award is the award for the person who is really engaged in the VHTRC and supports the club by running well and volunteering in all our runs and events. Jamie Greenawalt and Allison Holko tied for for the Female Furbutt Award. Paul Encarnacion beat out Paul Crickard, Josh Howe, Larry Huffman, and Tom Simonds for the Male Furbutt Award.

Performance of the Year

The Performance of the Year recognizes one male and one female member for the most outstanding performance of the year in a trail run. Katie Keier won Female Performance of the Year for her Wild Oak 200, beating out Michele Harmon, Bethany Patterson, Sarah Smith, Lara Zoeller. Brad Hinton’s win at the Yeti 100 Mile Endurance Run in 14:43 was deemed the best Male Performance of the Year. Doug Campbell was also in the running for this award for his grueling finish at the Grindstone 100.

Runner of the Year

The Runner of the Year recognizes two runners — one male and one female member of the VHTRC — who have demonstrated consistently outstanding performances in trail runs during 2016. Robin Watkins edged out a competitive field of Megan Alvarado, Kathleen Cusick, Sara Davidson, and Suzie Spangler for the Female Runner of the Year. Adam Watkins bested John Andersen, Jack Kurisky, and Danny Mowers for Male Runner of the Year.

Other awards


Gary Knipling was voted Ambassador of the Year, besting a long group of exemplary club members including Rick Amernick, Toni Aurilio, Paul Crickard, Bob Gaylord, Mike Hart, Katie Keier, Tom Simonds, and John Stacy.

Photo of the Year

Geoffrey Baker’s photo of Gary Knipling finishing the Patapsco 50k was voted Photo of the Year. The other nominated phots were from John Nelson, Josh Howe, Nick Combs, Paul Encarnacion, Quatro Hubbard, and Toni Aurilio. View all the photos.

Geoffrey also provided all of the photos in this report.

James Moore Award

Stephanie Danahy and John Stacy received the James Moore Award, recognizing their exemplary service to the broader community through their trail-work efforts.